Audio Visual Rights Society of Nigeria (AVRS) Ltd/Gte, Nigeria’s sole collective management organization for cinematograph films, held its 3rd Annual General Meeting at the AVRS Secretariat, Opebi Lagos on the 18th of September, 2018.  The AGM which also was an election AGM had rights owners and holders present and ably represented at the event.

According to the Chairman of the Society, Mr.Bond Emeruwa, the past two year had been a period of building and consolidation. Setting up an efficient collective management organization anywhere in the world requires passing through seminal procedures during which careful steps and essential decisions are made for seamless operation afterwards. It is even more peculiar in the case of AVRS as we are one of the very few Audio-Visual copyright management organizations in the world.

Speaking at the AGM further, the chairman highlighted the limitation the CMO has with the present Act, the existing copyright laws in some cases made it difficult for AVRS to move forward at the desired pace. Also, some of the decisions taken at the setting up phase of AVRS inhibited its performancesin the area of international reciprocal and bilateral relationships with organisations like CISAC and SCARP.

An amendment was however made to the governing document (memart) at the AGM to correct the international relationships challenge with a proposal on the AVRS sharing formula to be redistributed as follows: Actors 20%, Directors 20%, Writers 20% and Producers 40%. The change was unanimously agreed to by the house. It was thus mandated to be effected with CAC and other relevant authorities.

The Chairman’s address received applause from members,however, the house urged the board to intensify efforts at collection that will eventual distribution of royalties to members.

The chairman commended theAVRS staff and Board Members for their tireless effort at building AVRS into respectable CMO. He appreciated the retiring directors for the time given to serve effortlessly on the Board.

One of the highlights of the AGM was the election of new directors. A third (1/3) of the board usually retires every two years and five new members elected to replace retiring members. Retirement was by lot at the Board meeting preceding the AGM. They include Mr. Fidelis Duker, Mr. Chico Ejiro, Alh. SaniMuazu, Mr. Paul Okoli, Dr. Ahmad Sarari. Two of them, Dr. Ahmad Sarariand Sani Muazu were re-elected with three other new directors including Elder Adetunji Ojetola, Mrs. IyenOmoruyi (nee Agbonifo-Obaseki) and Oloba Al-Maroof Afolayan. Other returning directors are Mr. Bond Emeruwa, Prince JideKosoko, Mr. Mahmood Ali-Balogun, Chief Peddie Okao, Mrs. Lillian Amah-Aluko, Sir Emmanuel Isikaku, Barr. Norbert Ajaegbu, Mr. Tony Anih, Otunba Rotimi Aina-Kusoro and Mr. Okey Ogunjiofor.

The election of a new chairman for the reconstituted board was postponed to the next meeting of the Board of Directors of AVRS.

Apart from AVRS members, guests present at the AGM include Barr Obi Ezeilo, representative of the Nigerian Copyright Commission (NCC), Mr.Chinedu Chukwuji, General Manager, COSON and representatives from the law firm GO Sodipo, Mr. Daniel Ozoma and Miss Nkiru.

At the end of the AGM, Mrs. Olubunmi Fawole, AVRS General Manager gave the vote of thanks at about 4:55PM. The meeting was adjourned with a motion moved by Mr. Frank Dallas and seconded Prince Jide Kosoko; with the closing prayer by Dr. Ahmed Sarari.



Get in touch with us


Be a part of the change...

Contact us

Audio Visual Rights Society (AVRS) of Nigeria

18A Salvation Road
Ikeja, Lagos
P.O. Box 52751 Falomo, Ikoyi
Lagos, Nigeria.

Tel: +2349025186078 +09024657868 


Education - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.